For my weekly work I decided to focus on the subject of learning math through TV. After watching cyber chase in class, I found it interesting how math can be incorporated into a classroom through different mediums such as videos. I found ways to use videos effectively by reinforcing the concept of math that is being taught along with other shows and computer games that would be fun to use in a classroom. By using videos of math I think elementary students would benefit from the actual application of math in movies and games, by visually seeing and experiencing it.
    When using videos in a classroom, I would first start out by teaching the lesson of math so the students would have a general idea of the topic. Afterwards, I would show the movie and the kids would be able to see practical applications of math especially in shows like Cyber Chase. I would also have math computer games that the kids could play to get more practice. By using this visual style of teaching, I think that my students would develop a better understanding because they can see the math instead of just learning a lesson form a book. Also by doing this, students would form better memories of math because they can recall the fun math videos and activities.
    After researching, I found a couple TV shows that incorporate math into their programs. Besides Cyber Chase, I found some shows called Design Squad and Peg and Cat that teach math through entertainment. These shows would be good for a classroom because they would engage the students and even help with some concepts that would be hard for students to understand alone. For example the episode that we watched in class this week would most likely help students understand area and perimeter because of it's real application.
    Overall, I think that by using math TV in the classroom along with games would be very beneficial for students understanding and application of math. By showing real application elementary kids could relate and understand the purpose for doing math. When I teach math, I hope to make it interesting and fun for the kids to want to learn and teach the idea that math is everywhere around us.
 
10/7/2013 03:11:05 am

Content/Complete: could use deeper discussion of these ideas, to get at how you might use them to teach, or evaluate how we used it, or the benefit to students from it. You could give more info about these shows, or consider specific applications.

Other C's:+

Haven't heard of Peg and Cat - you've piqued my curiosity.

Reply



Leave a Reply.