Overall, I think that Kevin Cloninger's speech was a little different than what I expected in terms of where his speech started off and ended. I thought it was going to be more focused on how to promote the well being of students in a classroom but instead he discussed issues of well being in our society. I found some of his information useful to know about some problems that my future students could be facing which made me think of ways that I could help them and give students the opportunity to be happy and healthy. His speech did make me think outside of the box and realize the many purposes for education that people do not normally think of besides preparing students for future jobs but to create people to live well and can use that well being to better others.
    From his speech, I thought of several ways that I could use his discussion of well being and take it into a classroom. For example I think that kids will learn better and get more out of their education when they want to learn and many times this only happens when they have a good sense of wellbeing. To take this into a classroom, I would create some lesson plans that would allow students to think about their well being such as activities or projects where students could reflect and discuss their personal values and beliefs . This would help students to understand who they are as individuals and maybe learn the reasons why they are getting an education. I would also incorporate some forms of physical well being such as including education on nutrition and exercise.
    I think that it would be very good to use Kevin Cloninger's ideas of well being in a classroom as an educator because I have the responsibility to teach my students who will be our future leaders. By promoting well being of my students, it would create a positive environment which would in turn help students be more involved in their learning. I think that also by encouraging well being in the classroom, I could encourage a healthy lifestyle for the students and even their parents if they are aware of my teaching of well being. Also this would give me the opportunity to use creativity in a classroom to make lesson plans about well being other than basic subjects.



Leave a Reply.